Thursday, 16 April 2015

Tokyo Book Signing!

TOKYO FOLK! On Sunday 26th April at 11:15am, I'm going to be at Kinokuniya bookstore in Shinjuku https://www.kinokuniya.co.jp/c/store/Books-Kinokuniya-Tokyo/shopinfo.html. If you'd like to come along and get a book signed or just say hello, it would be lovely to see you! (Keep an eye on Twitter on the day, to see exactly where I am so you can find me easily :) www.twitter.com/aeroplanegirl) xx

Wednesday, 15 April 2015

favourite book dedications

Good morning, folks! Last year Buzzfeed included 'The Bookshop Book' in their list of 26 best book dedications of all time (which made me blush a bit). So, I thought I'd make a video chatting about some of my favourite book dedications. You can watch it over here :) xx


Saturday, 11 April 2015

Jen Recommends // Five Short Story Collections


As part of my 'Jen Recommends....' series,  my latest video is all about some short story collections I know and love. You can watch it over here :)



Hope you're all having a good week. xx

Tuesday, 7 April 2015

my favourite first sentences

Hello folks!

I've just uploaded a video talking about some of my favourite first lines in literature. You can watch it over here :) Youtube wouldn't let me post the list of videos in the description, as it's too long, so I've included them in this blog post (below) instead.

Lots of bookish love xx



BOOKS MENTIONED IN THIS VIDEO

The Crow Road by Iain Banks http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/fiction-poetry/the-crow-road,iain-banks-9780349139159

Signs Preceding the End of the World: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25067884-signs-preceding-the-end-of-the-world

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/childrens/the-graveyard-book,neil-gaiman-chris-riddell-9780747594802

The Crimson Petal and the White by Michel Faber http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/fiction-poetry/the-crimson-petal-and-the-white,michel-faber-9781782114413

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/childrens/a-christmas-carol,charles-dickens-9780147512895

The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/fiction-poetry/the-virgin-suicides,jeffrey-eugenides-9780007524303

The Napoleon of Notting Hill by GK Chesterton http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/fiction-poetry/the-napoleon-of-notting-hill,g-k-chesterton-anthony-lejeune-9780955519628

Behind the Beautiful Forevers by Katherine Boo http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/philosophy-psychology-social-sciences/behind-the-beautiful-forevers-life,katherine-boo-9781846274510

Specimen Days by Michael Cunningham http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/fiction-poetry/specimen-days,cunningham-michael-9780007373154

Pages for You by Sylvia Browning http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/fiction-poetry/pages-for-you,sylvia-brownrigg-9780330484626

The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/fiction-poetry/the-bloody-chamber-and-other-stories,angela-carter-helen-simpson-9780099588115

Bluebeard by Angela Carter http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/fiction-poetry/bluebeard,angela-carter-9780141195889

Peter Pan by JM Barrie http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/childrens/peter-pan,j-m-barrie-9780099573043

Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/fiction-poetry/fahrenheit-451,ray-bradbury-9780006546061

The Penelopiad by Margaret Atwood http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/fiction-poetry/the-penelopiad-the-myth-of-penelope,margaret-atwood-9781841957043

Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/fiction-poetry/northanger-abbey,jane-austen-9780099511878

My Name is Mina by David Almond http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/childrens/my-name-is-mina,david-almond-9780340997260

The Toughest Indian in the world by Sherman Alexi http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/fiction-poetry/the-toughest-indian-in-the-world,sherman-alexie-9780802138002

A Guide to Being Born by Ramona Ausubel https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16158505-a-guide-to-being-born?ac=1

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/fiction-poetry/pride-and-prejudice,jane-austen-9780679783268

A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/fiction-poetry/a-tale-of-two-cities,charles-dickens-richard-maxwell-9780141196909

Circus of the Unseen by Joanne Owen https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22428320-circus-of-the-unseen?ac=1

The Diving Pool http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/essays-writing/the-diving-pool,yoko-ogawa-stephen-snyder-9780099521358

A Time for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/fiction-poetry/a-tale-for-the-time-being,ruth-l-ozeki-9780857867971

Nineteen Eighty Four by George Orwell http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/essays-writing/nineteen-eightyfour,george-orwell-thomas-pynchon-9780141393049

Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/fiction-poetry/lolita,vladimir-nabokov-9780141193670

Wildwood by Colin Meloy http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/childrens/wildwood-the-wildwood-chronicles,colin-meloy-carson-ellis-9780857863256

The Drum Tower by Farnoosh Mashiri
 http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/fiction-poetry/the-drum-tower,farnoosh-moshiri-9781910124024

Swimming Home by Deborah Levy http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/fiction-poetry/swimming-home,deborah-levy-9780571299607

The Humans by Matt Haig http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/fiction-poetry/the-humans,matt-haig-9780857868787

A Constellation of Vital Phenomena http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/fiction-poetry/a-constellation-of-vital-phenomena,anthony-marra-9780099575573

Of Things Gone Astray by Janina Matthewson http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/essays-writing/of-things-gone-astray,janina-matthewson-9780007562473

The Underdog by Markus Zusak http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/childrens/underdog,markus-zusak-9781849416993

The Earth Hums in B Flat by Mari Strachan http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/fiction-poetry/the-earth-hums-in-b-flat,mari-strachan-9781847673053

Lighthousekeeping by Jeanette Winterson http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/fiction-poetry/lighthousekeeping,jeanette-winterson-9780007181506

Annabel by Kathleen Winter https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7984373-annabel?ac=1

The Secret History by Donna Tart http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/fiction-poetry/the-secret-history,donna-tartt-9780140167771

I Capture the Castle by Dodi Smith http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/fiction-poetry/i-capture-the-castle,dodie-smith-valerie-grove-9780099460879

The Hopkins Manuscript https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/2588395-the-hopkins-manuscript?ac=1

The Catcher in the Rye by JD Salinger http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/essays-writing/the-catcher-in-the-rye,j-d-salinger-9780241950432

Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs http://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/fiction-poetry/miss-peregrines-home-for-peculiar,ransom-riggs-9781594746031

Johnny Panic and the Bible of Dreams by Sylvia Plath https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/11628.Johnny_Panic_and_the_Bible_of_Dreams?ac=1

Monday, 6 April 2015

Off to Japan!

Hello folks, I've closed up the bookshop until May! I'm spending the rest of the month working on other projects, writing and travelling around Japan. (The bookshop will still be open, naturally, I just won't be there). I've been filming ahead so eight videos will go up when I'm away www.youtube.com/jenvcampbell - I got your bookish needs covered :) - and if you want to follow my adventures, you can keep an eye on Twitter (www.twitter.com/aeroplanegirl) and Instagram (www.instagram.com/jenvcampbell) :) (I will be signing books in Tokyo at some point, probably the 26th or 27th April - more details on that later) xx

Sunday, 5 April 2015

April Book Club

Hello folks, this month's #weirdthingsbookclub has been posted. We're reading The Crimson Petal and the White by Michel Faber. If you'd like to join in, head over here for details :) xx


Thursday, 2 April 2015

Jen and Sanne [booksandquills] recommend Apocalyptic Fiction

I teamed up with the lovely Sanne [from Books&Quills] to recommend some of our favourite apocalyptic fiction. We had a lot of fun filming this video, and we'll get together again in the future to talk about dystopian literature, too - clearly we like all the really uplifting genres ;). You can watch the video over here. We also filmed a video over on her channel, too. :) Hope you're all having a lovely week! xx