Thursday, 27 August 2015

Life Update & Events

Hello lovely folk!

Last night I uploaded a video telling you about everything that's going on life-wise, bookselling-wise, writing-wise etc. You can watch that over here. Grab a cup of tea and pull up a seat.



If you would prefer to read instead of watch, here's a summary of some of the things I talked about:

- We're sadly closing Ripping Yarns bookshop at the moment. We're not disappearing as a business; we'll be operating out of Celia (the bookshop owner)'s house, doing book fairs, open by appointment etc, so do keep an eye on our website for details of that. We're open until 20th September if you want to come and say hello in the mean time. We were hoping to stay until the end of our lease in 2018, but the landlord is doubling our rent so we're leaving early.

- If you'd like to listen to me chatting on the Man Booker Podcast, you can do so over here. I'm at 9:25mins in.

- I've got 5 events coming up in the next few weeks in Edinburgh, Stockholm, Uppsala, Ilkley and London if you'd like to stop by! All details are on the events page.

- The Bookshop Book is coming out in America on the 1st October, hurrah! I was at the Little, Brown offices last week signing copies to be sent to some of the US bookstores in the book.



- We have adopted a lovely dog called Lola! She's a sweetheart and we're very happy. She's a five year old Jack Russell/Chihuahua mix. Look at those ears. Ah!


I talk about more things in the video, but those are the Big Things. :) Everything's very busy at the moment but I'm also enjoying reading the Man Booker longlist as part of the Man Booker Vloggers project and will be uploading more videos with thoughts on the books as I go. Keep an eye out for those over here.

I hope you're all having a fantastic week. xxxx

Thursday, 20 August 2015

Friday, 14 August 2015

EXCITING ANNOUNCEMENT!

Hello folks, happy Friday! I have a bit of an exciting announcement to share! :)



(If you can't view the video, click here).

xx

Tuesday, 11 August 2015

Some Books I've Been Falling in Love With

Hello, lovely blogettes. It was great to see some of you at the Port Eliot Festival in Cornwall a couple of weeks ago. I was chatting about The Bookshop Book with Andy Miller - author of The Year Of Reading Dangerously - and the setting for the festival was beautiful. I made a video about it here, if you'd like to take a look.



I have been falling in love with a lot of books recently, namely The Evolutionary Revolution by Lily Hoang, a rather bizarre novella combining a mixture of fairy tales and politics; The Faster I Walk The Smaller I Am, a beautiful Norwegian novella about a woman who is worried she's losing her sense of self; and The Dumb House by John Burnside - possibly my favourite read of the year - which was reissued by Vintage this week and is a very disturbing novel about the origin of language. I'd recommend it for fans of Lolita and Perfume. If you want to hear more about the books I've been reading, head over here.



I've got a bit of an exciting announcement to make later this week (and no, it's not a new book deal and, no, I'm not pregnant. Which seem to be most people's guesses so far!) x

Thursday, 30 July 2015

Port Eliot Festival


Cornwall-folk! This Friday, 31st July, I'll be chatting about The Bookshop Book and Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops at the Port Eliot Festival, 11:15am in the Walled Garden. You can find more details on their website here. Look forward to seeing some of you there! x


Thursday, 2 July 2015

A Catch Up

Blogettes! I'm so sorry, I feel as though I have abandoned you. Many apologies. I haven't disappeared from the internet at all - seriously, would I disappear from the internet? - and have been uploading lots of bookish videos over on my Booktube channel. There are now over 100 to watch, and I hope that you're enjoying them.

This week I spoke at the Bookseller Marketing and Publicity Conference about Booktube - I made a video about that prior to the event, here, and will be making another next week about my thoughts on Booktube and the book world at large.

I also filmed a 'Day in the Life...' type video, where you can follow me around, writing, bookselling and book signing, and have also branched out with more 'out and about' type videos, interviewing Kirsty Logan (author of The Gracekeepers), chatting to Leo Nickolls - fabulous book designer - about beautiful books, and will be doing more videos like that in the future.

Last week was Independent Bookshop Week, so I went on a London Bookshop Crawl with Lauren and Holly, which was lots of fun.

As for reading - my favourite recent reads are Sum by David Eagleman and Einstein's Dreams by Alan Lightman. I now pair these two books together in my head whenever I think about them - despite them dealing with different topics. Sum is a collection of short stories about different sorts of afterlives: one where, when you die, your new job is to act of the dreams of the living. Einstein's Dreams is a set of short stories set around the time Einstein was developing his theory of relativity. All are about different universes where time materialses in different ways. They're both fascinating and I highly, highly recommend them.

I hope you're all having a wonderful summer! If you have any reading recommendations, let me know :) xx

Monday, 25 May 2015

The 'BE A GOOD HUMAN' Book Tag


Hello, folks! I was despairing about humanity a bit and thinking about the WONDERFUL power of books and so created the 'BE A GOOD HUMAN' book tag, chatting about books that promote diversity, understanding, and generally make the world a better place. You can watch my video over here, and all the books are listed and linked below :) xx


Tell the Wolves I'm Home by Carol Rifka Brunt https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/12875258-tell-the-wolves-i-m-home?ac=1

A Single Man by Christopher Isherwood https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16842.A_Single_Man?ac=1

Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal? by Jeanette Winterson https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/11395597-why-be-happy-when-you-could-be-normal?ac=1

Data Trace by Ronnie McGrath https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/15125520-data-trace?ac=1

Chick by Hannah Lowe https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17401740-chick?ac=1

Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/890.Of_Mice_and_Men?ac=1

Why the Whales Came by Michael Morpurgo https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1289436.Why_the_Whales_Came?from_search=true&search_version=service

Across the Barricades by Joan Lingard https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/839277.Across_the_Barricades?ac=1

Getaway Girl by Terry Ann Thaxton https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/10835163-getaway-girl?ac=1

Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17470674-fahrenheit-451?ac=1

The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/38447.The_Handmaid_s_Tale?ac=1

Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/46756.Oryx_and_Crake?ac=1

Brave New World by Huxley https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/5129.Brave_New_World?ac=1

Animal Farm by Orwell https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7613.Animal_Farm?ac=1

1984 by Owell https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/5471.Nineteen_Eighty_Four?ac=1

How to be Both by Ali Smith https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20439328-how-to-be-both?ac=1

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1618.The_Curious_Incident_of_the_Dog_in_the_Night_Time?ac=1

Elizabeth is Missing by Emma Healey https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18635113-elizabeth-is-missing?ac=1

The Book of Strange New Things by Michel Faber https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20697435-the-book-of-strange-new-things?ac=1

The Humans by Matt Haig https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16130537-the-humans?ac=1

Wonder by RJ Palacio https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23302416-wonder?ac=1

My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece by Annabel Pitcher https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13068707-my-sister-lives-on-the-mantelpiece

It's Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/248704.It_s_Kind_of_a_Funny_Story?ac=1

Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17571564-hyperbole-and-a-half?ac=1

The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/10956.The_Virgin_Suicides?ac=1

The Power.Book by Jeanette Winterson https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/50653.The_Powerbook?ac=1

Orlando by Virginia Woolf https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18839.Orlando?ac=1

Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/2187.Middlesex?ac=1

Annabel by Kathleen Winter https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7984373-annabel?ac=1

Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/991197.The_Complete_Persepolis?ac=1

One Day I Will Write About This Place https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/9905586-one-day-i-will-write-about-this-place?ac=1

The Art of Asking by Amanda Palmer https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20980987-the-art-of-asking-or-how-i-learned-to-stop-worrying-and-let-people-hel?ac=1

The Chrysalids by John Wyndham https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/826845.The_Chrysalids?ac=1

The Time In Between https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23315461-the-time-in-between?ac=1

Sapiens https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23692271-sapiens

My 52 Weeks of Worship https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13586202-my-52-weeks-of-worship?ac=1

50 Books that Changed the World https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6061516-books-that-changed-the-world?ac=1